Request a fast Workers Compensation Insurance NY quote
Workers Compensation Insurance NY
NY Work Comp Employer Information About Workers compensation insurance NY:
The law requires employers operating in New York State to have workers’ compensation coverage for their employees, with limited exceptions. Employers are required to obtain and keep in effect workers’ compensation coverage for all employees, even part-time employees and family members.
Liability And Penalties For Violations What happens if I don't buy workers compensation insurance?
Section 26-a says an employer is liable for a penalty of $2,000 per 10-day period of noncompliance, plus the actual award (including both compensation and medical costs), plus any other penalties the Board assesses for noncompliance. In cases involving severely injured employees, the medical costs alone could be in the hundreds of thousands of dollars per injury.
Frequently Asked Questions About Workers Compensation Insurance NY
Does my NY business need workers comp?
The law requires almost all employers operating in New York State to have workers’ compensation coverage for their employees. This requirement can be fulfilled by purchasing insurance coverage through an insurance carrier.
How much does NY workers compensation cost?
Employers are assigned a classification for what type of work they do. The basic premium is based on its class code, the carrier’s NYS workers comp rates for the classification and annual payroll.
Who pays for workers compensation?
The cost of the insurance must be paid entirely by the employer, no amount can be charged to employees. You can’t charge workers for benefits provided or for any portion of the workers compensation insurance NY premium.
What does New York workers compensation cover?
Coverage ensures medical, indemnity and death benefits to employees who are injured during the course of their job. Employers who so provide coverage are protected against lawsuits filed by injured workers.
Can owners can be held accountable for non-compliance?
The sole proprietor, partners or the president, secretary and treasurer of a corporation are personally liable for a business’ failure to secure workers’ compensation insurance.
Who determines if my business is not compliant?
The Workers’ Compensation Board may require an employer to furnish proof that the employer: Has a valid workers’ compensation insurance policy and is keeping proper and accurate business records.