Request a fast Workers Compensation Insurance NJ quote
Workers Compensation Insurance NJ
NJ Work Comp Employer Information About Workers compensation insurance NJ:
New Jersey law requires that all New Jersey employers, have workers’ compensation coverage or be approved for self-insurance. Coverage may be obtained by a buying a Workers’ Compensation Insurance Policy written by a mutual or stock carrier authorized to write insurance in New Jersey. Some of the largest employers are in Newark.
Consequences for Failure to Insure What happens if I don't buy workers compensation insurance?
The consequences for failure to provide NJ workers’ compensation coverage can be very significant, even without a work-related injury. Penalties for such failure can be assessed up to $5,000 for the first ten days and up to $5,000 for each additional ten-day period of failure to insure thereafter.
In addition to awards for medical expenses and other benefits, New Jersey law also provides for civil penalties against the employer and its officers where failure to insure is determined.
Frequently Asked Questions About Workers Compensation Insurance NJ
Does my NJ business need workers comp?
The law requires almost all employers, not covered by Federal programs, operating in New Jersey to have workers’ compensation coverage for their employees. This requirement can be fulfilled by purchasing insurance coverage through an insurance carrier.
How much does NJ workers compensation cost?
Employers are assigned a classification for what type of work they do. The basic premium is based on its class code, the carrier’s NJ workers compensation rates for the classification and annual payroll.
Who pays for workers compensation?
The cost of the insurance must be paid entirely by the employer, no amount can be charged to employees. You can’t charge workers for benefits provided or for any portion of the workers compensation insurance NJ premium.
What does New Jersey workers compensation cover?
Workers’ comp provides medical treatment, wage replacement, and permanent disability compensation to employees who suffer job-related injuries or illnesses. It also provides death benefits to dependents of workers who have died as a result of their employment.
Can owners can be held accountable for non-compliance?
Where a work-related injury or death has occurred, the employer, including individual corporate officers, partners or members of an LLC, is directly liable for medical expenses, temporary disability, and permanent disability.
Who determines if my business is not compliant?
The Office of Special Compensation Funds (OSCF) will accept and investigate allegations of non-compliance. The OSCF enforces the law that requires employers to secure NJ workers comp coverage.