Request a fast Workers Compensation Insurance DE quote
Workers Compensation Insurance DE
DE Work Comp Employer Information About Workers compensation insurance DE:
The law (Title 19, Chapter 23, Delaware Code) requires employers operating in Delaware to have workers’ compensation coverage for their employees, with limited exceptions. Employers are required to obtain and keep in effect workers’ compensation coverage for all employees, even part-time Wilmington employees.
Liability And Penalties For Violations What happens if I don't buy workers compensation insurance?
If an employer, refuses or neglects to comply they will be subject to a civil penalty of $1 per day for each employee in the employer’s service at the time when the insurance became due, but not less than $25 for each day of refusal or neglect and until the same ceases. If any employer is in default for a period of 30 days, the employer may be enjoined by the Court of Chancery of this State from carrying on business while such default continues.
Frequently Asked Questions About Workers Compensation Insurance DE
Does my DE business need workers comp?
All employers with one or more employees are required to provide workers’ compensation coverage for their workers. This requirement can be fulfilled by purchasing insurance coverage through an insurance carrier.
How much does DE workers compensation cost?
Employers are assigned a classification for what type of work they do. The basic premium is based on its class code by the Delaware Compensation Rating Bureau, the carrier’s rate for the class and the employer’s annual payroll.
Who pays for workers compensation?
The cost of the insurance must be paid entirely by the employer, no amount can be charged to employees. You can’t charge workers for benefits provided or for any portion of the workers compensation insurance DE premium.
What does Delaware workers compensation cover?
Covers compensation for personal injury or death by accident arising out of and in the course of employment, regardless of the question of negligence and to the exclusion of all other rights and remedies.
Is proof of coverage required to be posted?
The Delaware workers comp notice must be posted in a conspicuous and accessible location in or about the premises or place of employment and where employees normally pass.
Who determines if my business is not compliant?
The State of Delaware Industrial Accident Board shall have jurisdiction over cases arising under Part II of IAB rules and shall hear disputes as to compensation to be paid under Part II of the title.