Request a fast Workers Compensation Insurance CA quote
Workers Compensation Insurance CA
CA Work Comp Employer Information About Workers compensation insurance CA:
The law requires employers operating in California to have workers’ compensation coverage for their employees, with limited exceptions. California law requires employers to have workers’ compensation insurance, even if they have just one employee.
Liability And Penalties For Violations What happens if I don't buy workers compensation insurance?
Failing to have workers’ compensation coverage is a criminal offense. Section 3700.5 of the California Labor Code makes it a misdemeanor punishable by either a fine of not less than $10,000 or imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, or both. Additionally, the state issues penalties of up to $100,000 against illegally uninsured employers.
Frequently Asked Questions About Workers Compensation Insurance CA
Does my CA business need workers comp?
California law requires employers to have workers’ compensation insurance, even if they have just one employee. Employers should shop around for an insurance carrier that best meets their needs.
How much does CA workers compensation cost?
A few factors go into determining the premium your insurance carrier will charge. These include your industry classification, past claims (known as your experience modification), and your payroll.
Who determines if my business is not compliant?
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) audit unit ensures that employers met their obligations under the Labor Code and the administrative director’s regulations.
Who pays for workers compensation?
An employer cannot ask employees to help pay the insurance premium. You can’t charge workers for benefits provided or for any portion of the workers compensation insurance CA premium.
What does California workers compensation cover?
Coverage ensures medical, indemnity and death benefits to employees who are injured during the course of their job. Employers who so provide coverage are protected against lawsuits filed by injured workers.
Can owners can be held accountable for non-compliance?
If an employer is operating without workers’ compensation coverage, a stop order will be issued. This prohibits the use of employee labor until coverage is obtained, and failure to observe it is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for up to 60 days, or by a fine of up to $10,000, or both.